fashIon council Germany

FCG

become a member

News

Berlin's Governing Mayor Franziska Giffey and State Secretary Michael Biel open the BFW!

Together with the Governing Mayor Franziska Giffey, State Secretary Michael Biel opened Berlin Fashion Week and called for solidarity with Ukraine.

Governing Mayor Franziska Giffey and State Secretary Michael Biel opened Berlin Fashion Week in front of around 150 guests, including brands, designers, organisers and media representatives at Kraftwerk Berlin. At the request of the organisers, Berlin Fashion Week will take place in March for the first time.

Franziska Giffey, the Governing Mayor of Berlin, opened the Fashion Week with the following words: "This important event today is also a sign that we are standing up for art, culture, creativity and also for freedom and solidarity. In times that are difficult and in which we feel with the people who are at war or who come to us in Berlin from Ukraine and need help. I know that many of them have also had discussions in preparation for Fashion Week, as have we, about how to deal with this. Today we are on day 18 of Putin's war of aggression on Ukraine. We are all shocked and horrified. We are in Berlin to help in any way we can. And we have also asked ourselves whether we can allow an event like this to take place. And I say to you: Yes, we can - all the more so in these times. Because here we are all together setting a sign of solidarity, compassion, cooperation, help and freedom. We stand for our democratic values and freedom, especially in this situation. And therefore thank you for being here!"

 

State Secretary Michael Biel, Senate Department for Economic Affairs, Energy and Operations commented: "Ladies and gentlemen, the Governing Mayor has found impressive words and described the situation we have in Europe at the moment. I believe it is an important signal that we must send out from this Fashion Werk. Berlin is the city of freedom, Berlin is the city of solidarity and we are saying very clearly, loud and clear: No to war "ni viyni" and the world needs to hear that, also from Berlin Fashion Week. The topic of the creative industries has found a very special place. We are both aware of that, this Senate is very aware of that and you always show here quite impressively how important it is that we support this economy for Berlin. They are important for this city and 4,800 companies in Berlin are involved in the fashion industry or are the fashion industry. 25,500 jobs are located in this economy and a turnover of 5 billion euros is no small contribution, you are an important part of the backbone of Berlin's economy, for Berlin's companies, and for that we thank you very much on behalf of the politicians.

The Opening Reception was followed by the Berliner Salon, one of the many highlights of Berlin Fashion Week. The Fashion Council Germany and the Berliner Salon organised the Opening Reception for the opening of Berlin Fashion Week.

Together with the alliance of German aid organisations Aktion Deutschland Hilft e. V., the Fashion Council Germany is calling for donations for emergency aid in Ukraine. Donations can be made under the following link or via QR code:                    

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner

No items found.

fashIon council Germany

FCG

Mitglied werden

News

Berlins Regierende Bürgermeisterin Franziska Giffey und Staatssekretär Michael Biel eröffnen die BFW!

Gemeinsam mit der Regierenden Bürgermeisterin Franziska Giffey hat Staatssekretär Michael Biel die Berlin Fashion Week eröffnet und zur Solidarität mit der Ukraine aufgerufen.

Die Regierende Bürgermeisterin Franziska Giffey und Staatssekretär Michael Biel eröffneten die Berliner Modewoche vor rund 150 Gästen, darunter Marken, Designer:innen, Veranstalter:innen und Medienvertreter:innen im Kraftwerk Berlin. Die Berlin Fashion Week findet auf Wunsch der Veranstalter:innen erstmals im März statt.

Mit folgenden Worten eröffnete die Regierende Bürgermeisterin Franziska Giffey die Modewoche: „Dieses wichtige Ereignis ist heute auch ein Zeichen, dass wir für die Kunst, Kultur, Kreativität und auch für die Freiheit und die Solidarität setzen. In Zeiten, die schwierig sind und in denen wir mit den Menschen fühlen, die im Krieg sind oder die aus der Ukraine zu uns nach Berlin kommen und Hilfe brauchen. Ich weiß, dass viele von ihnen auch in Vorbereitung auf die Fashion Week wie auch wir Diskussionen geführt haben, wie damit umzugehen ist. Wir sind heute an Tag 18 des Angriffskrieges von Putin auf die Ukraine. Wir alle sind erschüttert und entsetzt. Wir sind in Berlin dabei zu helfen, wie wir können. Und wir haben uns auch gefragt, ob wir ein Ereignis wie dieses stattfinden lassen können. Und ich sage Ihnen: Ja, das können wir - erst recht in diesen Zeiten. Weil wir hier alle miteinander ein Zeichen der Solidarität, des Mitgefühls, der Zusammenarbeit, der Hilfe und der Freiheit setzen. Wir stehen für unsere demokratischen Werte und die Freiheit, vor allem in dieser Situation. Und deshalb Danke, dass Sie da sind!"

 

Staatssekretär Michael Biel, Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe kommentiere: „Meine Damen und Herren, die Regierende Bürgermeisterin hat eindrucksvolle Worte gefunden und die Lage, die wir in Europa zurzeit haben, beschrieben. Ich glaube, es ist ein wichtiges Signal, was wir von dieser Fashion Werk aussenden müssen. Berlin ist die Stadt der Freiheit, Berlin ist die Stadt der Solidarität und wir sagen ganz klar, laut und deutlich: Nein zum Krieg „ni viyni“ und das muss die Welt hören, auch von der Berlin Fashion Week. Das Thema Kreativwirtschaft hat einen ganz besonderen Platz gefunden. Uns beiden ist das bewusst, diesem Senat ist das sehr bewusst und Sie zeigen hier auch immer ganz eindrucksvoll, wie wichtig es ist, dass wir diese Wirtschaft für Berlin unterstützen. Sie sind wichtig für diese Stadt und 4800Unternehmen beschäftigen sich in Berlin mit der Modewirtschaft oder sind die Modewirtschaft. 25.500 Arbeitsplätze sind in dieser Wirtschaft ansässig und 5Milliarden Euro Umsatz ist jetzt kein kleiner Beitrag, sie sind ein wichtiger Teil für das Rückgrat der Berliner Wirtschaft, für die Berliner Unternehmen, und dafür danken wir Ihnen auch ganz herzlich in Namen der Politik!“

Im Anschluss an die Opening Reception fand der Berliner Salon, einer der vielen Highlights der Berlin Fashion Week statt. Der Fashion Council Germany und der Berliner Salon haben die Opening Reception zur Eröffnung der Berlin Fashion Week organisiert.

Zusammen mit dem Bündnis deutscher Hilfsorganisationen Aktion Deutschland Hilft e. V. ruft der Fashion Council Germany zu Geldspenden für die Nothilfe in der Ukraine auf. Gespendet werden kann unter dem folgenden Link oder per QR-Code:                    

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner

No items found.