fashIon council Germany

FCG

become a member

Interview

In conversation with Julia Freitag, Managing Director of StyleproofedTV: "The story behind the brand".

styleproofed GmbH is a creative think-tank around fashion & styling & shopping.

Julia Freitag entered digital publishing in 2009 with the blogzine "styleproofed.com- the guide to good fashion" together with her colleague Silke Wichert and a team of fashion and lifestyle journalist friends.

With the claim to present, test and evaluate the best products from the fields of fashion, beauty and lifestyle. A contemporary way of Stiftung Warentest on the web...

Since 2014, the portfolio of styleproofed GmbH has expanded to include brand consulting & styling and content creation.

So she has always been passionate about staging fashion & lifestyle in a way that is tailored to the target group, and this year she has ventured into a new moving content adventure with styleproofedTV!

FCG: Could you briefly explain to us what is behind StyleproofedTV and what services you are now offering with the agency?

Julia Freitag: With styleproofed.tv, we want to give new brands, local design greats and sustainable products more digital attention and explain and present the "story behind the brand" and the hero products, including functional and production details, together with the brand makers in our live shows.

In our LIVES, we combine the often impersonal e-commerce with personal interviews and entertainment to create a new social shopping format.

FCG: You originally come from journalism and were fashion editor for many years and later fashion director at magazines like Vanity Fair, Glamour, etc. You have been a fashion editor for many years. How has the industry changed from your perspective over the last 20 years?

JF: Trend cycles have become so much more fast-paced and the consumer attention span for products has shifted a lot to SEE NOW & BUY NOW. So for journalists and stylists, like me, a lot has changed, because the classic fashion magazines also have to cater to all digital formats and social media accounts.

Unfortunately, a great, elaborate photo shoot like the ones I was able to produce from my time at Condé Nast can hardly be financed anymore and the pressure to produce a perfect fashion video and good social media posts on the side in addition to the photos has become the norm.

Therefore, for me social media work means rather loving everyday life, where the imagery then also works realistically and true to life, and the fashion shoots and fashion shows are my very special excursions into the industry.

FCG: From your perspective, which (German) fashion brands have managed to achieve national and international success? What were the reasons for this?

JF: I find it exciting that some very escapist labels from the beginnings of the Berlin salon have made it into international perception - Horror Vacui and Rianna+Nina spontaneously come to mind.

And then there are also very authentic brands where the founders communicate their design taste and their brand ID over and over again with a lot of stringency and quality. For me, these are Jörg and Otto from Odeeh, Johnny and Adrian from Talbot Runhof or Leyla from Lala Berlin.

FCG: In addition to your work as a fashion and trend expert and consultant, you also worked as a stylist for a long time. Are there any tips you would like to give to young (German) labels?

JF: I would advise every young label to focus on one or two hero products in design and communication. Because the total look idea is not reality, neither with buyers nor with consumers.

FCG: What makes Germany an attractive location for you and how would you rate Berlin as a fashion metropolis?

JF: I am a true Berliner and of course I love my city, which is so imperfectly chaotic and fashionably indifferent, very much for its free-spirited attitude, its openness to other cultures and the possibility to reinvent oneself in it again and again. The only problem is that in Berlin status is not defined by fashion and therefore too little money is spent on good fashion.

I hope that Berlin can take a new and strong fashion position with upcycling, vintage, made-to-order and sustainable fashion. It fits well into the city's lifestyle and is hopefully the future.

We would like to thank Julia Freitag for the interview.

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner

No items found.

fashIon council Germany

FCG

Mitglied werden

Interview

Im Gespräch mit Julia Freitag, Geschäftsführerin von StyleproofedTV: "Die Story hinter der Marke"

Die styleproofed GmbH ist ein kreativer Think-Tank rund um Mode & Styling & Shopping.

Ins digitale Publishing ist Julia Freitag schon 2009 mit dem Blogzine “styleproofed.com- the guide to good fashion” zusammen mit ihrer Kollegin Silke Wichert und einem Team befreundeter Mode & Lifestyle Journalisten eingestiegen.

Mit dem Anspruch, die besten Produkte aus dem Bereich Mode, Beauty und Lifestyle vorzustellen, zu testen und zu bewerten. Eine zeitgemäße Art von Stiftung Warentest im Web…

Seit 2014 hat sich das Portfolio der styleproofed GmbH dann noch um Marken-Beratung &Styling sowie Content-Creation erweitert.

Das zielgruppengerechte Inszenieren von Mode & Lifestyle hat sie also schon immer begeistert und mit styleproofedTV hat sie sich dieses Jahr in ein neues bewegtes Content-Abenteuer gewagt!

FCG: Magst Du uns kurz erläutern, was hinter StyleproofedTV steckt und welche Services Du mit der Agentur jetzt neu anbietest?

Julia Freitag: Mit styleproofed.tv wollen wir neuen Brands, lokalen Designgrößen und nachhaltigen Produkten mehr digitale Aufmerksamkeit schenken und in unseren Live-Shows die “Story behind the Brand“ und die Hero-Produkte samt Funktions- und Produktionsdetails zusammen mit den Brand Machern erläutern und vorstellen.

Wir verbinden in unseren LIVES den oft unpersönlichen E-Commerce mit persönlichen Interviews und Entertainment zu einem neuen Social Shopping-Format.

FCG: Du kommst ursprünglich aus dem Journalismus und warst lange Jahre Moderedakteurin und dann später Fashion Director bei Magazinen wie Vanity Fair, Glamour etc. Wie hat sich die Branche aus Deiner Perspektive in den letzten 20 Jahren verändert?

JF: Die Trendzyklen sind so viel schnelllebiger geworden und die Aufmerksamkeitsspanne der Konsumenten für Produkte hat sich sehr ins SEE NOW & BUY NOW verlagert.  Für Journalisten und Stylisten, wie mich, hat sich daher viel geändert, denn die klassischen Mode-Magazine müssen zusätzlich alle digitalen Formate und Social Media Accounts bedienen.

Leider lässt sich ein tolles, aufwändiges Fotoshooting, wie ich es noch aus meiner Zeit bei Condé Nast produzieren konnte, kaum noch finanzieren und der Druck zusätzlich zu den Fotos, ein perfektes Fashion-Video und gute Social Media-Posts mal so easy nebenbei mitzumachen, ist zur Normalität geworden.

Daher bedeutet für mich Social Media Work eher liebevoller Alltag, wo dann auch die Bildsprache realistisch und lebensnah funktioniert, und die Fashionshoots und Fashionshows sind meine ganz besonderen Ausflüge in die Branche.

FCG: Welche (deutsche) Modemarken haben es aus Deiner Perspektive geschafft, national wie international Erfolg zu haben? Was waren dafür die Gründe?

JF: Spannend finde ich, dass es einige sehr eskapistische Labels aus den Anfängen des Berliner Salons in die internationale Wahrnehmung geschafft haben - mir fällt da spontan Horror Vacui und Rianna+Nina ein.

Und dann gibt es auch noch sehr authentische Marken, wo die Founder ihren Design Geschmack und ihre Marken-ID über Jahre immer wieder mit viel Stringenz und Qualität kommunizieren. Das sind für mich z.B. Jörg und Otto von Odeeh, Johnny und Adrian von Talbot Runhof oder Leyla von Lala Berlin.

FCG: Du warst lange u.a. neben Deiner Tätigkeit als Mode- und Trendexpertin und Beratung auch als Stylistin tätig. Gibt es Tipps, die Du jungen (deutschen) Labels mit auf den Weg geben möchtest?

JF: Ich würde jedem jungen Label raten, sich auf ein oder zwei Hero-Produkte zu fokussieren im Design und in der Kommunikation. Denn der Total Look Gedanke ist weder bei Einkäufern noch bei den Konsumenten die Realität.

FCG: Was macht den Standort Deutschland für Dich attraktiv und wie würdest Du Berlin als Modemetropole bewerten?

JF: Ich bin eine waschechte Berlinerin und liebe meine so unperfekt-chaotische und modisch sehr indifferente Stadt natürlich sehr für ihre freigeistige Haltung, ihre Offenheit gegenüber anderen Kulturen und die Möglichkeit sich in ihr immer wieder neu zu erfinden. Problem ist nur, dass in Berlin der Status nicht über Mode definiert wird und daher auch zu wenig Geld für gute Mode ausgegeben wird.

Ich hoffe, mit dem Thema Upcycling-, Vintage-, Made to Order - und Sustainable Fashion kann sich Berlin modisch neu und stark positionieren. Das passt gut in den Lifestyle der Stadt und ist hoffentlich die Zukunft.

Wir bedanken uns bei Julia Freitag für das Gespräch.

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner

No items found.