fashIon council Germany

FCG

become a member

Interview

In conversation with Michael Pfeifer from MOOT (Made Out Of Trash): "On Upcycling, Circularity and Made Out Of Trash".

MOOT (Made Out Of Trash) focuses on upcycling, i.e. the complete reuse of textiles that have already been produced. Their mass-produced re-design products are made from 100% discarded textiles, making them by far the most sustainable form of new clothing production. They require fewer production steps overall and produce exclusively in Germany.

1. would you like to explain briefly how MOOT was founded?

The founding process of MOOT has gone through several steps. In the summer of 2019, during a vacation together, my co-founder Nils Neubauer and I philosophized for the first time about what is now called MOOT. During his training as a fashion designer at the Lette-Verein Berlin (graduation July 2020), it quickly became clear to Nils that a "business as usual" in the fashion industry is no longer sustainable. Clothing has become a throwaway and disposable commodity for many. Nils did not want and does not want to be a part of this. In the same breath, he told me at the time that he was producing "new" clothing from existing materials - in other words, he was upcycling. As a business economist, I knew little about upcycling, but all the more about finance and business models. Nils' conviction to make the fashion industry more sustainable and to make upcycling suitable for the masses excited me directly. In spring 2020, the vacation idea of two best friends turned into MOOT GbR. Since April of this year, we have been operating as MOOT Upcycling GmbH.

2 You founded your company in April 2020, when the first Covid wave had the world firmly in its grip. As a graduate in business administration, how would you describe the last two and a half years since the founding?

The idea for MOOT came before that, of course, but the timing of starting the company was really challenging.

One week after the company was founded, we were initially without textile suppliers due to the lockdown in Germany. But we found solutions to overcome this challenge and came out of the first phase of the crisis stronger. Since then came several Corona waves and lockdowns; now there is war in Ukraine and high inflation. Looking back, we founded into a very difficult time, but we have been able to solve every challenge so far. None of us have a crystal ball, but we still have a clear plan at MOOT for how we want to continue to grow and make upcycling suitable for the masses. Especially considering the general conditions we've faced so far, I'm very happy with our development.

You started with a T-shirt made from old bed linen. Now you sell (over) ten products, from coats to belts, through your own online store. What product category will you be pushing next?

We are extremely proud of the rapid expansion of our product portfolio. After launching many new products recently, we are currently working on new cuts. This year, however, we will launch two to three more product categories for the winter season. I can't reveal details about the new products just yet, though.

The online store was joined by a concept store in Berlin's Ostbahnhof station. How did the collaboration with Deutsche Bahn come about and how did the direct contact with customers influence you?

With the concept store in Berlin's Ostbahnhof and the cooperation with Deutsche Bahn, you can see very well that MOOT is not a conventional fashion label. We seek (and find) contact with the center of society - and what place stands for the center of society as exemplarily as a train station?
Our collaboration with Deutsche Bahn began after we won DB's startup program, the "DB mindbox". In the meantime, a great partnership with DB has also developed out of the competition, which goes far beyond store operations; for example, we were at the GREENTECH Festival together with DB and offer our products in the railroad store.

Direct customer contact in the Concept Store - especially across all social groups - is extremely valuable to us. Based on the direct feedback, we have now released another edit for some of our products. If we were purely online, this feedback would not be so easy to get.

5 Your concept is based on upcycling textiles. How do you rate Germany as a fashion location in terms of sustainability and circularity?

The fashion industry is and - if it doesn't change radically - will remain one of the dirtiest industries in Germany. We welcome the fact that more and more fashion companies are now addressing sustainability and circularity, but I miss the final determination here. Since the terms "sustainable" and unfortunately also "upcycling" are used almost inflationary, I am worried that a lot is more greenwashing than real innovation. So far, I see extremely few labels that deal with post-consumer waste. Incidentally, I miss this determination on the other side of the ecosystem as well: sustainability and circularity need to be much stronger criteria when public funding and programs are awarded.
There is still a lot to be done to make the fashion industry sustainable and circular.

We would like to thank Michael Pfeifer for the interview.

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner

No items found.

fashIon council Germany

FCG

Mitglied werden

Interview

Im Gespräch mit Michael Pfeifer von MOOT (Made Out Of Trash): "Über Upcycling, Zirkularität und Made Out Of Trash"

MOOT (Made Out Of Trash) setzt auf Upcycling, also auf die vollständige Wiederverwendung bereits produzierter Textilien. Ihre massentauglichen Re-Design-Produkte bestehen zu 100 % aus weggeworfenen Textilien und bilden damit die mit Abstand nachhaltigste Form der Produktion neuer Kleidung. Sie benötigen insgesamt weniger Produktionsschritte und produzieren ausschließlich in Deutschland.

1. Magst Du uns kurz erklären, wie es zur Gründung von MOOT kam?

Der Gründungsprozess von MOOT hat mehrere Schritte durchlaufen. Im Sommer 2019 haben mein Co-Gründer Nils Neubauer und ich während eines gemeinsamen Urlaubs zum ersten Mal über das philosophiert, was heute nun MOOT heißt. Während seiner Ausbildung zum Modedesigner am Lette-Verein Berlin (Abschluss Juli 2020) wurde für Nils schnell klar, dass ein"Weiter so" in der Modeindustrie nicht mehr tragbar ist. Kleidung ist für viele zu einer Wegwerf- und Einwegware geworden. Nils wollte und will kein Teil davon sein. Im gleichen Atemzug hatte er mir damals erzählt, dass er aus bereits bestehenden Materialien “neue” Kleidung produziert - also Upcycling betrieben hat. Als Betriebswirt wusste ich zwar wenig über Upcycling, dafür aber umso mehr über Finanzen und Geschäftsmodelle. Nils’ Überzeugung, die Modeindustrie nachhaltiger zu gestalten und Upcycling massentauglich zu machen, begeisterte mich direkt. Im Frühjahr 2020 wurde aus der Urlaubsidee zweier, bester Freunde dann die MOOT GbR. Seit April dieses Jahres firmieren wir als MOOT Upcycling GmbH.

2. Ihr habt Eurer Unternehmen im April 2020, als die erste Covid-Welle die Welt fest im Griff hatte, gegründet. Wie würdest Du als studierter Betriebswirt die letzten zweieinhalb Jahre seit der Gründung beschreiben?

Die Idee zu MOOT entstand natürlich schon vorher, aber der Zeitpunkt der Unternehmensgründung war wirklich herausfordernd.

Eine Woche nach Unternehmensgründung standen wir aufgrund des Lockdowns in Deutschland erstmal ohne Textillieferanten da. Doch wir haben Lösungen gefunden, um diese Herausforderung zu meistern und sind gestärkt aus der ersten Phase der Krise gekommen. Seitdem kamen mehrere Corona-Wellen und Lockdowns; jetzt gibt es Krieg in der Ukraine und eine hohe Inflation. Rückblickend haben wir in eine sehr schwierige Zeit hinein gegründet, aber wir haben bisher jede Herausforderung lösen können. Keiner von uns hat eine Glaskugel, aber wir haben bei MOOT trotzdem einen klaren Plan, wie wir weiterwachsen und Upcycling massentauglich machen wollen. Besonders wenn man die bisherigen Rahmenbedingungen berücksichtigt, bin ich sehr zufrieden mit unserer Entwicklung.

3. Angefangen habt ihr mit einem T-Shirt aus alter Bettwäsche. Inzwischen verkauft ihr (über) zehn Produkte vom Mantel bis zum Gürtel über Euren eigenen Online-Shop. Welche Produktkategorie forciert Ihr als Nächstes?

Wir sind extrem stolz auf die rasche Ausweitung unseres Produktportfolios. Nachdem wir in letzter Zeit viele neue Produkte herausgebracht haben, arbeiten wir derzeit an neuen Schnitten. Dieses Jahr werden wir allerdings noch zwei bis drei weitere Produktkategorien für die Winterzeit launchen. Details zu den neuen Produkten kann ich jetzt allerdings noch nicht preisgeben.

4. Zum Online-Shop kam noch ein Concept Store im Berliner Ostbahnhof dazu. Wie kam es zu der Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Bahn und wie hat der direkte Kund:innen-Kontakt Euch beeinflusst?

Anhand des Concept Stores im Berliner Ostbahnhof und der Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Bahn erkennt man sehr gut, dass MOOT kein herkömmliches Modelabel ist. Wir suchen (und finden) den Kontakt in die Mitte der Gesellschaft - und welcher Ort steht für die Mitte der Gesellschaft so exemplarisch, wie ein Bahnhof?
Die Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Bahn begann, nachdem wir das Startup-Programm der DB, die “DB mindbox”, gewonnen haben. Aus dem Wettbewerb heraus hat sich mittlerweile auch eine tolle Partnerschaft mit der DB entwickelt, die weit über den Ladenbetrieb hinausgeht; z.B. waren wir gemeinsam mit der DB auf dem GREENTECH Festival und bieten unsere Produkte im Bahnshop an.

Der direkte Kundenkontakt im Concept Store - vor allem über alle Gesellschaftsgruppen hinweg - ist für uns extrem wertvoll. Aufgrund des direkten Feedbacks haben wir nun einen weiteren Schnitt für einige unserer Produkte herausgebracht. Wären wir rein online unterwegs, wäre dieses Feedback nicht so einfach zu bekommen.

5. Euer Konzept beruht auf Upcycling von Textilien. Wie bewertest Du den Modestandort Deutschland hinsichtlich Nachhaltigkeit und Zirkularität?

Die Modeindustrie ist und - wenn sie sich nicht radikal ändert - bleibt eine der dreckigsten Industrien in Deutschland. Wir begrüßen, dass sich mittlerweile immer mehr Modeunternehmen mit Nachhaltigkeit und Zirkularität auseinandersetzen, jedoch vermisse ich hier die letzte Entschlossenheit. Da die Begriffe “nachhaltig” und leider auch “Upcycling” schon fast inflationär genutzt werden, habe ich die Sorge, dass vieles mehr Greenwashing als wirkliche Innovation ist. Bisher sehe ich extrem wenig Labels, die sich mit post-consumer waste beschäftigen. Diese Entschlossenheit vermisse ich übrigens auch auf der anderen Seite des Ökosystems: Nachhaltigkeit und Zirkularität müssen deutlich stärkere Kriterien zugrunde gelegt werden, wenn öffentliche Fördergelder und -programme vergeben werden.
Es ist noch viel zu tun, um die Modebranche nachhaltig und kreislauffähig zu gestalten.

Wir bedanken uns bei Michael Pfeifer für das Gespräch.

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner

No items found.