fashIon council Germany

FCG

become a member

News

Study: German Fashion Footprint - Report on the global impact of the German fashion industry

Fashion Council Germany publishes the German Fashion Footprint study on the global impact of the German fashion industry: 38 million tonnes of CO₂e were released worldwide for the production of clothing and footwear - only 2 million tonnes of CO₂e within Germany.

After the study "Status of German Fashion" published in January 2021, the Fashion Council Germany publishes its second study "German Fashion Footprint" on the global impact of the German fashion industry. Like the study already published last year, the study was conducted by the Oxford Economics Institute and financed by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The Berlin-based strategy consultancy for innovation and sustainability studio MM04 advised the Fashion Council Germany throughout the development process of the study and is jointly responsible for the selection of the case studies published in the report.

As already proven in the "Status of German Fashion" report published in 2021, Germany is one of the largest fashion markets in the world and home to many internationally renowned fashion brands such as Adidas, Puma and Hugo Boss. Therefore, trends and practices from Germany have a significant impact on the environment worldwide. The German Fashion Footprint study examines the industry's environmental footprint based on five main factors: greenhouse gas emissions, energy consumption , air pollution, water consumption and agricultural land use. The study is based on data from 2019, before the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, as it has led to a massive drop in production in many sectors of the global economy.

In this environmental impact report, the impact of the activities of fashion brands and retailers within Germany was taken into account, as well as the global impact of garments and footwear sold in Germany but produced abroad. According to the report, the greenhouse footprint of the German fashion industry was over 38 million tonnes (CO₂e) in 2019. This corresponds to the average annual emissions of 1.9 million German households or 8.7 million trips around the world in a family car. Furthermore, this value is roughly equivalent to the total direct emissions of Slovakia in 2019(42 million tonnes of CO₂e) or the direct emissions of business and administration in Sweden (47 million tonnes of CO₂e).

These and many other facts and figures can be found in the report. Among others, you will find case studies by Magnus Dorsch (About You), Amira Jehia (Drip by Drip e.V.), Melissa O de Leon and Larissa Roviezzo (Regenerate Fashion), Jana Neumark (Hessnatur) and Nora Milena Vehling (Fashion Revolution Germany).

You can download the complete report under the following link download:

For further questions please contact:

Henriikka Bierwirth

henriikka.bierwirth@fashion-council-germany.org

Tel.: +49 30 994 0489 - 61

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner

fashIon council Germany

FCG

Mitglied werden

News

Studie: German Fashion Footprint - Bericht über die globalen Auswirkungen der deutschen Modeindustrie

Fashion Council Germany veröffentlicht die Studie zum German Fashion Footprint über die globalen Auswirkungen der deutschen Modeindustrie: 38 Mio. Tonnen CO₂e wurden weltweit für die Produktion von Bekleidung und Schuhen freigesetzt – nur 2 Mio. Tonnen CO₂e innerhalb Deutschlands.

Nach der im Januar 2021 herausgegebenen Studie „Status Deutscher Mode“ veröffentlicht der Fashion Council Germany seine zweite Studie „German Fashion Footprint“ über die globalen Auswirkungen der deutschen Modeindustrie. Die Studie wurde wie die bereits letztes Jahr publizierte Studie vom Institut Oxford Economics durchgeführt und von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) finanziert. Die Berliner Strategieberatung für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit studio MM04 stand während des ganzen Entwicklungsprozesses der Studie dem Fashion Council Germanyberatend zur Seite und ist mitverantwortlich für die Selektion der im Bericht veröffentlichten Fallstudien.

Wie bereits im 2021 veröffentlichten Bericht zum „Status Deutscher Mode“ bewiesen wurde, ist Deutschland einer der größten Modemärkte der Welt und beheimatet viele internationale bekannte Modemarken wie Adidas, Puma und Hugo Boss. Daher haben Trends und Praktiken aus Deutschland erhebliche Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt weltweit. In der Studie zum German Fashion Footprint wird die Umweltbilanz der Branche anhand von fünf Hauptfaktoren untersucht: Treibhausgasemissionen, Energieverbrauch, Luftverschmutzung, Wasserverbrauch und landwirtschaftlichem Flächenbedarf. Die Studie basiert auf Daten aus dem Jahr 2019, also vor dem Ausbruch der Covid-19 Pandemie, da diese zu einem massiven Produktionsrückgang in vielen Sektoren der Weltwirtschaft geführt hat.

Indem nun vorliegenden Bericht zum Umwelteinfluss wurden die Auswirkungen der Tätigkeit von Modemarken und Einzelhändler:innen innerhalb Deutschlands berücksichtigt sowie die weltweiten Auswirkungen der in Deutschland verkauften, aber im Ausland produzierten Kleidungsstücke und Schuhe bewertet. Laut dem Bericht lag die Treibhausbilanz der deutschen Modeindustrie im Jahr 2019 über 38 Millionen Tonnen (CO₂e). Dies entspricht den durchschnittlichen jährlichen Emissionen von 1,9 Millionen deutschen Haushalten oder 8,7 Millionen Fahrten um die Erde mit einem Familien-Pkw. Darüber hinaus entspricht dieser Wert ungefähr den gesamten direkten Emissionen der Slowakei im Jahr 2019(42 Mio. Tonnen CO₂e) oder den direkten Emissionen der Wirtschaft und Verwaltung in Schweden (47 Mio. Tonnen CO₂e).

Diese sowie viele weitere Zahlen und Fakten können Sie dem Bericht entnehmen. Darin finden Sie unter anderem Fallstudien von Magnus Dorsch (About You), Amira Jehia (Drip by Drip e.V.), Melissa O de Leon und Larissa Roviezzo (Regenerate Fashion), Jana Neumark (Hessnatur) und Nora Milena Vehling (Fashion Revolution Germany).

Den kompletten Report kannst Du unter folgendem Link oder per QR-Code herunterladen:

Bei weiteren Fragen kontaktiere bitte:

Henriikka Bierwirth

henriikka.bierwirth@fashion-council-germany.org

Tel.: +49 30 994 0489 - 61

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Partner